This is a sample review of something that I read on the internet. That thing was an article called ‘Boring music for boring people‘, and was written by Someone Boring, a regular contributor to The Most Boring Blog on the Internet. This sample is designed to give you a hand with some formatting things, and to give you an idea of what a 350 word review looks like. It’s probably best to write it in Word first, and then transfer it to a blog post, inserting hyperlinks and images.

I thought it was pretty good, but not amazing. Reading something else that author has written, or writes in the future, might help my understanding of their perspective and talent as someone who writes about music. The history of boring things is pretty boring (Schillinger, 2012).

Here is a photo I am embedding, just to make sure it works.

puppy-in-a-bee-costume

It worked.

Here is a hyperlink to something else interesting. It is a random thing designed both to take up space, and to provide a further example. Examples are terribly useful things, as Benjamin Franklin said in his autobiography (Franklin 1986).

We can’t embed video or audio here, but we can link to places where those media can be accessed, like this and this.

I took the following quote from a place, that place being Jody Rosen’s article on Vulture.com ‘In Defense of Pop Criticism‘. I think I’ll use the block quote tool in the advanced editing tools.

I learned a lot from Gioia: not just facts, but ideas and insights, which I’ve no doubt bandied about in conversation in the years since, pretending they’re my own. I owe the man (Rosen 2014).

Now I am just filling space, in order to get to the 350 word requirement. I don’t recommend writing paragraphs like this one. In fact, I don’t even receommend reading paragraphs like this one.  Now I am just filling space, in order to get to the 350 word requirement. I don’t recommend writing paragraphs like this one. In fact, I don’t even receommend reading paragraphs like this one. Now I am just filling space, in order to get to the 350 word requirement. I don’t recommend writing paragraphs like this one. In fact, I don’t even receommend reading paragraphs like this one.

That’s about it for now. Any questions?

References

Franklin, Benjamin. 1986. The Autobiography. Edited by Kenneth Silverman. New York, NY: Penguin.

Rosen, Jody. “Rosen: In Defense of Pop Criticism.” Vulture. March 19, 2014. Accessed February 18, 2017. http://www.vulture.com/2014/03/rosen-in-defense-of-pop-criticism.html

Schillinger, Liesl. “Buccaneers and Bullion,” review of Silver: Return to Treasure Island by Andrew Motion. The New York Times. August 23, 2012, accessed August 27, 2012, http://www.nytimes.com/2012/08/26/books/review/silver-return-to-treasure-island-by-andrew-motion.html?ref=review

